Criteria for Election

The Advertising Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates the most accomplished and legendary figures in advertising, and in doing so inspires the next generation of advertising leaders to reach the highest heights of excellence. Induction into the Advertising Hall of Fame honors individuals, international and American, who have had exceptionally distinguished and extraordinary careers, have completed their primary careers or have had careers spanning at least 35 years, and who, through and in their professional lives and community involvement, have made outstanding and notable contributions to the profession of advertising and its reputation, have consistently practiced the highest ethical standards, and have contributed substantially to their communities. The Council of Judges considers the election of those whose record of advertising and service significantly enhanced the advertising industry in the United States.


The David Bell Award for Industry Service

The David Bell Award for Industry Service recognizes extraordinary and unique contributions and service to the advertising community and industry as a whole. It is named in honor of David Bell (Hall of Fame Class of 2007), a visionary leader, mentor to several generations of advertising professionals, and the only industry executive ever to lead all and each of these leading industry organizations—The Ad Council, The Advertising Educational Foundation, The American Advertising Federation, and The American Association of Advertising Agencies.

This special award is given to an Advertising Hall of Fame inductee who not only demonstrates the extraordinary accomplishments and contributions that are the hallmark of the Hall of Fame, but who also reflects an exceptional and special commitment, extending beyond that of their accomplished peers, to serve and better the industry as a whole. Candidates are selected from the Advertising Hall of Fame nominations at the discretion of the Council of Judges, who may choose not to select a recipient in any given year.


Now Accepting Nominations for the 2025 Class. Deadline July 12, 2024.

Nominate Now

AAF Staff

Lisa Rubin
Executive Vice President, Corporate Partnerships & Events


Beatrice V. Santacroce
Director, Corporate Engagement & Events


Emily Gaddy
Manager, Corporate Partnerships & Events