Press Room

Recent News

The Room and the American Advertising Federation Join Forces To Offer Exclusive Access for AAF Members

July 27, 2020 45,000 Professional and Student Members across the U.S. Will Now Receive Access to the Highly Cultivated, Private Event Series, The Room

The University of Virginia Wins 1st Place in the 2020 AAF National Student Advertising Competition Sponsored by Adobe

June 9, 2020 Adobe and the American Advertising Federation (AAF) are pleased to announce that the University of Virginia is the winner of the AAF’s 2020 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC).

American Advertising Federation Elects 4th Consecutive Year of Female Leadership

June 8, 2020 Lynn Lewis of UM Worldwide as National Board Chair, Tiffany R. Warren of Omnicom Group as National Vice Chair and Melanie Mitchem of FCB for Mosaic Chair 

LuAnn Yattaw Named AAF Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Honoree

May 28, 2020 With more than eight years of service as the District 8 executive director, LuAnn Yattaw played a critical role in the ongoing progression of the organization and those she so proudly served. 

AAF Announces Pat Martin Excellence in District Leadership Award Recipient, A.J. Busé to Receive Honor

May 28, 2020 Each year, the American Advertising Federation acknowledges the exemplary commitment to District Leadership with the Pat Martin Excellence in District Leadership Award. This year’s honoree is A.J. Busé, a 28-year veteran of the organization. 

Muhammad Al-Kahlout Receives Chic Davis Memorial Award

May 28, 2020 The American Advertising Federation is excited to announce Muhammad Al-Kahlout, AAF Birmingham American Advertising Awards chairman, is this year’s recipient of the Chic Davis Memorial Award.

Distinguished Advertising Educator Award Recognition Goes to Kevin Kelly of Brigham Young University

May 19, 2020 Associate Professor Kelly will be honored as the 2020 recipient of the American Advertising Federation’s (AAF) annual award for excellence in advertising education. 

AAF Advertising Hall of Fame Gala Postponed Due to COVID–19 Virus

March 12, 2020 The American Advertising Federation has decided to postpone the planned AAF Advertising Hall of Fame Gala that was set for April 28, 2020 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York, NY. The new date will be October 5, 2020, still in New York City.

Class of 2020 Honorees Announced at New York Stock Exchange for the 71st Annual Advertising Hall of Fame

January 28, 2020 Nina DiSesa, McCann; Richard Edelman, Edelman; Judy McGrath, MTV Networks; Wenda Harris Millard, MediaLink; J. Melvin Muse, Muse Communications; Andrew Robertson, BBDO Worldwide; Michael I. Roth, The Interpublic Group; Annie Leibovitz, portrait photographer; IBM elected into the Hall of Fame’s 71st Class.

American Advertising Awards Campaign Courtesy of The Buntin Group

December 17, 2019 The advertising community is a buzz as the country’s largest creative competition boasts a new campaign geared to increase awareness and boost entries. The campaign is courtesy of The Buntin Group, a full-service agency based in Nashville, Tenn.

Most Promising Multicultural Students Class Announced for 2020
November 20, 2019 This year’s class represents 29 schools and 19 states across the country, including California, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, New York, and Texas.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF) to Recognize Top Executives from Twitter, FCB, Mondelez International, Google, DDB, Kastner, Kin, and Carbon

September 4, 2019 The AAF Advertising Hall of Achievement's distinguished Council of Judges elected eight industry superstars for induction into the Advertising Hall of Achievement. 

AAF Elects Tara Walpert Levy of Google as Board Chair and Lynn Lewis of UM Worldwide as Vice Chair for 3rd Consecutive Year of Female Leadership

July 8, 2019 The AAF today announced that Tara Walpert Levy, Vice President of Agency and Brand Solutions at Google will serve as Chair of the National Board of Directors, July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020. 

AAF Announces 2020 National Student Advertising Competition Sponsor, Adobe

June 7, 2019 The NSAC tasks AAF college chapter teams to develop an integrated marketing campaign in response to a real-world marketing challenge facing Adobe. 

Ithaca College Named Winner of American Advertising Federation’s 2019 National Student Advertising Competition, Sponsored by Wienerschnitzel

June 7, 2019 Wienerschnitzel Selected Winner from Work of Over 2,000 Nationwide Advertising and Marketing College Students

The American Advertising Federation Appoints Industry Veteran Steve Pacheco as President & CEO

June 6, 2019 The AAF Board of Directors announced it has appointed marketing veteran Steve Pacheco as the organization’s new president & CEO, effective immediately. 

Distinguished Advertising Educator Award Goes to Scott Hamula of Ithaca College

May 9, 2019 Associate Professor Hamula will be honored as the 2019 recipient of the American Advertising Federation’s (AAF) annual award for 30 years of excellence in advertising education. 


The American Advertising Federation Celebrates Excellence in Multicultural Advertising at the 18th Annual Mosaic Awards

April 8, 2019 Ceremony to be hosted by Actor James Lesure and TBWA/Chiat Day’s Doug Melville


Nike, Inc. Inducted into the 70th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame

April 3, 2019 Company joins 8 Individuals selected into the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019

Honorees Announced for the 70th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame

January 25, 2019 John J. Dooner, Jr., McCann Worldgroup; Anne Finucane, Bank of America; Michael E. Kassan, MediaLink; Bill Koenigsberg, Horizon Media; Debra L. Lee, BET Networks; Maurice Lévy, Publicis Groupe; Indra K. Nooyi, PepsiCo; and Hector J. Orci, Orci, elected into the  Hall of Fame’s 70th Class.

older press releases >>>


Johnson & Johnson to Be Inducted into 69th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame in New York

March 1, 2018Alex Gorsky, CEO and Chairman of Johnson & Johnson, will accept the award on behalf of the company on April 24 at Cipriani Wall Street.