AAF Announces Schools Competing in 2015 National Advertising Student Competition

, Jan. 30, 2015—The 2015 competition has begun! 149 collegiate teams are set to compete in the American Advertising Federation’s (AAF) annual National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC). The NSAC requires participating AAF college chapters to develop a written integrated marketing campaign proposal in response to a real-world case study, co-authored by this year’s corporate client, Pizza Hut. 

Teams pitch their campaign through a 20-minute presentation in front of industry judges—virtually or in-person—at the district level in one of AAF’s 15 Districts, from April 1–April 19, 2015. The best teams in each district are narrowed down to the top eight best campaigns in the country during the competition’s semi-finals, which will take place in May 4-5, 2015. These top eight teams will then compete for the national title and other awards during ADMERICA, AAF’s national conference at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 10-13, 2015. 

For more information on the NSAC, please contact Laetitia Brock at  

2015 District Competition Dates, Locations and Participants

District 1

April 10, 2015
Simmons College
Boston, MA

Boston University
Fitchburg State University
Johnson & Wales University-Providence 
Quinnipiac University
Salem State University
Simmons College
University of Hartford

District 2

April 18-19, 2015
New York Institute of Technology
New York City, NY

Baruch College–The City University of New York
Hofstra University
Ithaca College
Pace University-New York
Pace University-Pleasantville
Penn State University
Point Park University
St. Bonaventure University 
St. John’s University
SUNY Oneonta
Syracuse University
Temple University
The George Washington University 
The University of Scranton

District 3

April 3, 2015
DoubleTree Raleigh-Brownstone 
Raleigh, NC

Appalachian State University
Clemson University
James Madison University
Liberty University
The Art Institute of Washington
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
The University of Virginia 
University of South Carolina 
Virginia Military Institute
Washington and Lee University

District 4

April 17-18, 2015
Rosen Center
Orlando, FL

Bethune Cookman University
Florida State University
Miami International University of Art & Design
Northwood University-Florida Campus
Ringling College of Art and Design
The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale
University of Miami
University of South Florida
University of West Florida

District 5

April 15-16, 2015
Toledo, OH

Cleveland State University
John Carroll University
Marietta College
Marshall University
Murray State University
Ohio University
School of Advertising Art
University of Kentucky
Youngstown State University

District 6

April 9-10, 2015
Doubletree by Hilton
South Bend, IN

Adrian College
Augustana College
Ball State University
Blackburn College
Butler University
Central Michigan University
Columbia College Chicago
Eastern Michigan University
Ferris State University
Grand Valley State University
Indiana University Bloomington
Marian University
Michigan State University 
Northwood University–Michigan Campus
Purdue University 
Purdue University Calumet
Southern Illinois University
University of Illinois 
University of Michigan 
University of Notre Dame
University of Southern Indiana
Western Michigan University

District 7

April 9-12, 2015
Downtown Hilton
Knoxville, TN

East Tennessee State University
Lee University
Louisiana State University
Loyola University-New Orleans
Samford University
The University of Alabama
The University of Memphis
University of Louisiana at Lafayette

District 8

April 10-11, 2015
University of Minnesota 
Minneapolis, MN 

Black Hills State University
Minnesota State University Moorhead
North Dakota State University 
South Dakota State University
St. Cloud State University
University of Minnesota Duluth
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
University of North Dakota
University of St. Thomas
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

District 9

April 16-17, 2015
Kansas City Marriott Country Club
Kansas City, MO

Drury University
Lindenwood University
Saint Louis University
University of Missouri
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of Northern Iowa
Webster University

District 10

April 9-10, 2015
Dallas, TX

Angelo State University
Lamar University 
Oklahoma State University
Oral Roberts University
Southern Methodist University
Stephen F. Austin State University
Texas A&M University
Texas Christian University
Texas State University
Texas Tech University
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Houston
University of North Texas
University of Oklahoma
The University of Texas at Austin 
University of Texas–Pan American
University of Tulsa
West Texas A&M University

District 11

April 10, 2015
Boise State University
Boise, ID

Boise State University
Brigham Young University–Idaho
Idaho State University
Montana State University
University of Idaho
University of Oregon
Washington State University Spokane

District 12

April 17-19, 2015
Phoenix Convention Center
Phoenix, AZ

The Art Institute of Phoenix
Brigham Young University
The University of Arizona
University of Northern Colorado
University of Texas at El Paso

District 13

April 18, 2015
Servco Auto Honolulu
Honolulu, HI

Brigham Young University–Hawaii
Chaminade University of Honolulu
Hawaii Pacific University

District 14 

April 11, 2015
Berkeley City College
Berkeley, CA

California State University, Fresno
San Jose State University
University of California, Berkeley
University of Nevada, Reno
University of San Francisco

District 15

April 10, 2015
Mount St. Mary's University
Los Angeles, CA

California State University, Fullerton 
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Chapman University
College of the Canyons
Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles
The Art Institute of California-San Diego
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
University of Southern California

Virtual District

April 14, 2015

DePaul University 
Texas A&M University-Kingsville
The University of Southern Mississippi
The University of Texas at Arlington
West Virginia University