Irwin Gotlieb

Global Chairman, GroupM

Irwin Gotlieb is the Global Chairman of GroupM, the world’s leading, full service media investment management company. 

GroupM is the parent organization to WPP media agencies including Mindshare, MEC, Mediacom and Maxus. The focus of GroupM is the intelligent application of scale in the areas of trading, data and technology for the benefit of clients and GroupM companies.  

Irwin’s tenure at WPP began in September 1999 when he joined the company as Chairman and CEO of Mindshare Worldwide. He launched Mindshare North America by consolidating the media resources of JWT and Ogilvy, thus creating a global media entity.  In April 2003 WPP established GroupM; Irwin moved into the role of Global CEO of GroupM.  

 Prior to WPP he was President and CEO of MediaVest Worldwide, a company he founded in December 1993, the first spinout of an agency media department into a standalone company in the United States. The founding of MediaVest represented the fulfillment of a 22-year journey with the company which started when he joined Benton & Bowles in 1977 as Associate Director of Broadcast Programming. 

He began his career in 1970, first at Norman Craig and Kummel, then onto SSC&B and Benton & Bowles. 

 Among his many achievements, Irwin has been a three-time Adweek/Mediaweek All Star, including a President’s Award in 1997.  And, a double Advertising Age Media Maven honoree. In February 2000, Irwin was named the "Media Player of the Year" by Advertising Age—the only time this award has been given. In 2006 New York magazine published "The Influentials," a roll call of the city’s leading executives in an array of industries; Irwin’s name topped the advertising category. And, in 2007, he was named one of the media industry’s top 25 most influential leaders by TV Week and inducted into Broadcasting & Cable Magazine’s Hall of Fame. Finally, in 2015 he was named to Adweek’s first-ever "Power List," which ranked the 100 most influential, innovative and effective leaders controlling media and technology.

Member of the Advertising Hall of Fame, Class of 2017

Last Updated: December 2016