Barton Cummings

Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award


Nomination Criteria

Nominees for the Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award may come from any one of three AAF member classifications: Advertisers, Advertising Agencies, and/or Media Companies. They must have contributed significantly as an AAF volunteer to the advancement of advertising at the national level for at least five plus years. 

In addition, the honoree should have demonstrated:

  • Understanding and support for the local clubs, Districts and Council of Governors' structures. 
  • Exceptional leadership in one or more AAF activities including but not limited to: the advancement of advertising education, diversity and inclusion, government relations, governance, industry recognition, public service, self-regulation or other services important to the AAF.

While the candidate need not have completed his or her primary career, the breadth of contributions should indicate a long-term commitment of AAF volunteer service and achievement. The candidate may be living or deceased.

First time nominees not awarded the Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal in a particular year, may have their nomination carried over to the second year only; nominators may submit an updated nomination form if desired. 

Nomination deadline is March 18, 2019