March 27, 2008

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF's Advertising Hall of Fame Awards Legacy Scholarships to Four Future Advertising Leaders

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Four legacy scholarships were awarded today during the American Advertising Federation's (AAF) Advertising Hall of Fame Luncheon at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York. The new Advertising Hall of Fame Legacy Scholarship program, which was established this year, is designed to reflect the high ideals of the Hall of Fame and encourage future advertising leaders.

The 2008 Legacy Scholarships are awarded on behalf of a 2007 Hall of Fame member and sponsor. This year's recipients are:

  • Matthew Sean Doherty of the University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign will receive the scholarship sponsored by the Interpublic Group in honor of David Bell.
  • Megan Gokey of Florida State University will receive the scholarship sponsored by the Procter & Gamble Company in honor of Bob Wehling.
  • Bryana Dee Green of Butler University will receive the scholarship sponsored by The New York Times in honor of Arthur Ochs Sulzberger.
  • Matthew Spicer of Texas State University – San Marcos will receive the scholarship sponsored by Verizon in honor of Bruce Gordon.

"Advertising Hall of Fame members have mentored the careers of thousands throughout our industry, changing advertising for the better," said Wally Snyder, AAF president and CEO. "Our goal through this program is to create an ongoing resource to encourage, nurture and reward the next generation of industry leaders."

Candidates were evaluated on their academic achievements and their significant volunteer efforts within the community. Each student is majoring in advertising, has maintained a high grade point average and demonstrated outstanding leadership skills. The scholarship provides financial assistance to undergraduate students who demonstrate a strong desire to pursue a career in the advertising industry.

The Advertising Hall of Fame, the highest award bestowed in the advertising industry, celebrates the extraordinary men and women who have made significant contributions to advertising and society. These legends raised the standards and level of professionalism in the industry, while inspiring and mentoring future generations. The Advertising Hall of Fame Legacy Scholarship must be used for undergraduate studies to include tuition, books and fees. The number of scholarships awarded annually will vary based on corporate participation.

To learn more about the Advertising Hall of Fame and its members, please visit

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at