January 7, 2008

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF Celebrates 12th Annual Most Promising Minority Students Program

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Celebrating its 12th year, the American Advertising Federation's (AAF) Most Promising Minority Students (MPMS) Program will bring 50 talented minority students to New York to meet with top agencies, media companies and advertisers. As the advertising industry's premier multicultural recruiting program, this three-day event recognizes not only exceptional student talent but also those companies that are dedicated to a diverse workforce. This year's class of students represents over 35 colleges and universities from across the United States. The program will take place February 5–7, 2008, at the New York Athletic Club in New York City.

Over the last few years, the Most Promisng Minority Students Program has expanded to provide more students with the opportunity to meet recruiters from major ad agencies, media companies and client organizations and to participate in professional development workshops. The industry immersion component of the program gives students exposure to the inner workings of major industry companies.

The AAF continues to remain responsive to the advertising industry's concerns regarding identifying top minority talent for entry-level positions. In order to remain competitive and relevant, today's advertising companies must market to the many diverse ethnicities that comprise our nation. Since the Most Promising Minority Students Program's inception in 1997, the AAF and its sponsoring partners have successfully connected the industry with hundreds of outstanding minority career candidates.

This year's program chairs are Frank Cooper, vice president, marketing, CSD Flavors, Pepsi-Cola North America; Sheena Payne, manager, advertising and promotions, American Airlines; and Allison Arden, publisher, the Ad Age Group, Crain Communications.

The Most Promising Minority Students Program is managed by the AAF Mosaic Center on Multiculturalism. For more information, contact Connie Frazier at cfrazier@aaf.org.

AAF's Most Promising Minority Students 2008 Finalists

Ashley Abney—Florida State University
John Tyler Allen—University of Oklahoma
Saata Amie Bangura—Loyola Marymount University
Carolyn Bee—University of Oregon
Tosakul "Art" Boonklan—The Art Institute of California – San Diego
Brandon Christopher Byrd—University of Missouri – Columbia
Kristin Erin Cardwell—University of Texas at Austin
Krista K. Catian—Chaminade University
Phoebe Chan—Pennsylvania State University
James Cho—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jillian Clarke—Howard University
Lorin Dale-Pierce—Howard University
Nancy Marie Dao—College for Creative Studies
Maria Eugenia Franco—University of Alabama
Kelly Nicole Gomez—Southern Methodist University
Tashia Goodwine—University of South Carolina
Joseph Reyes Grasso—University of Texas at Austin
Regina T. Greuel—University of Oklahoma
Amber Candace Guyton—University of South Carolina
Courtney Dereita Harris—University of Louisville
Monika Allyn House—Northwood University
Christine JoAnn Janda—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dongkwan Kim—The Art Institute of Pittsburgh
Nicole LaReau—Ithaca College
Iolani Lightbourne—New York University
Lecretia S. Lockett—Jackson State University
Sally Lok—Ithaca College
Malerie Elise Luciano—Pace University
Ellis Shui-Man Luk—Pennsylvania State University
Ashley McGowan—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Michael Anthony Molinar—Southern Methodist University
Jason Danté Morris—Jackson State University
Karina Moy—Grand Valley State University
Jordan Shea Rashad Norwood—Pennsylvania State University
Erika Michelle Ortega—University of Texas at El Paso
Shivani Parikh—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sara M. Pereira—Pennsylvania State University
Halley Marie Ralls—University of Oklahoma
Megann Monai Steen—University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Deanna Nicole Kanekiiostha Stephens—University of Louisville
Yanci K. Swenson—University of Texas Pan-American
Seijen Tsaouse Takamura—University of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Andrew Carlos Teie—University of Virginia
Renae Christal Tompkins—Johnson & Wales University
Angela Tran—University of Oklahoma
Loan Kim Vu—University of Oklahoma
Abby Warren—Saint Louis University
Jennifer Washington—Long Island University – Brooklyn
Randolph Lamont Wilson—Chaminade University
Iris Yau—University of California – Irvine

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.