September 14, 2007

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF Calls for 59th Advertising Hall of Fame Nominations

Deadline for Nominations November 16, 2007

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Advertising Federation (AAF) is seeking nominations for the 59th Advertising Hall of Fame, which honors legendary individuals whose excellence continues to define and raise the standards of the advertising industry. These prestigious awards are the industry's greatest honor for lifetime achievement in advertising, and the AAF administers the Advertising Hall of Fame on behalf of the entire industry. The AAF will accept nominations until November 16, 2007. The recipients will be officially inducted at an awards luncheon, March 27, 2008, at New York City's historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

The 2007 Advertising Hall of Fame inductees include David Bell, chairman emeritus, Interpublic group; Vincent T. Cullers, former president & CEO, Vince Cullers Group; Roquel "Billy" Davis, former music director and senior vice president, McCann Erickson; Bruce Gordon, former president, retail markets, Verizon; Arthur Ochs "Punch" Sulzberger, chairman emeritus, The New York Times Company; Stuart B. Upson, chairman emeritus, Saatchi & Saatchi and Bob Wehling, former global marketing and government relations officer, the Procter & Gamble Company.

Eligible candidates for the Advertising Hall of Fame are those individuals who have completed their primary careers, distinguished themselves in those careers, contributed to the betterment of advertising and its reputation and made volunteer efforts outside the workplace. Nominations can be submitted at, which acts as a virtual museum for the honorees. The award-winning site also contains information on the history of the Advertising Hall of Fame. Since its inception in 1948, the Advertising Hall of Fame has honored 177 individuals including industry giants Leo Burnett, Katherine Graham, John H. Johnson, Ray Kroc, David Ogilvy, Harley Procter, Ted Turner and Mary Wells Lawrence.

For additional information on nominations, contact Dee Dee Swartz at (800) 999-2231 or

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at