September 13, 2007

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Young Advertising Innovators to Be Honored at 2007 Advertising Hall of Achievement

Inductees From AT&T Inc., Visa USA, Ogilvy New York, Deutsch LA, Leo Burnett & Arc North America, SELF Magazine and Meredith Corporation Will Be Recognized

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Advertising Federation (AAF) announced today the seven industry leaders who will be inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Achievement. This award recognizes young advertising professionals, age 40 and under, who have made a significant impact on the industry though their leadership and career achievements and exhibit inspiring personal qualities. This year's recipients will be honored during a luncheon on Tuesday, November 13, at Gotham Hall, New York City.

"The Advertising Hall of Achievement is a distinctive honor, in that the inductees are chosen by their peers. These remarkable executives are setting powerful examples which are and will continue to be effective in leading the advertising industry into an on-demand world," said Wally Snyder, AAF president and CEO.

Now in its 15th year, the Advertising Hall of Achievement has recognized some of the industry's most exceptional talent. This year's inductees join the elite ranks of their forerunners. They are:

  • Andy Berndt, co-president, Ogilvy New York
  • Wendy Clark, senior vice president advertising, AT&T Inc.
  • Eric Hirshberg, president and chief creative officer, Deutsch LA
  • Kimberly Anderson Kelleher, vice president and publisher, SELF Magazine
  • Juan Carlos Ortiz, co-president, Leo Burnett and Arc North America
  • Jon Raj, vice president, advertising and emerging media platforms, Visa USA
  • Lauren Wiener, vice president, Meredith Interactive, Meredith Corporation

Jon Raj, vice president, advertising and emerging media platforms, Visa USA, will also be presented with the esteemed Jack Avrett Volunteer Sprit Award. The AAF added this award in 1996 to honor an inductee who is committed to exceptional public service and displays vision and initiative, contributing to the both the betterment of the advertising industry and their community.

"It was very hard to choose the finalists this year—the overall applicant pool was so strong," said David Carey, president, business media, Condé Nast Publications, and co-chairman of the 2007 Council of Judges. "What's clear is the important role of key on-the-rise executives and how they drive organizations across the media landscape with their fresh ideas. We're pleased to salute the contributions of seven true all-stars this November."

The Advertising Hall of Achievement is managed by the Council of Judges. This distinguished panel, representing all disciplines of the advertising industry, assembles to evaluate and recommend those individuals most deserving of induction.

David Carey, president, business media, Condé Nast Publications
John B. Osborn, president and CEO, BBDO New York

Greg D'Alba, COO, CNN sales & marketing, Turner Broadcasting

Mary Baglivo,* CEO, Saatchi & Saatchi New York
Maurice Coffey,* associate marketing director, household care, the Procter & Gamble Company
Laura Desmond,* CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group/The Americas
Murray Gaylord, VP, marketing,
Bill Gray, co-CEO, Ogilvy North America
Kim McCullough, corporate manager, marketing communications, Toyota
Chris Theodoros, director, industry relations, Google Inc.
Linda Thomas Brooks,* executive director, media & marketing, Trilogy
Curtis Tingle, VP, customer marketing, Valassis
Jeff Webber, SVP & publisher,
Andrea Wells,* EVP, Chevrolet account director, Campbell-Ewald

Frank Cooper, VP, marketing, CSD Flavors, PepsiCo
Jack Griffin,* president, Meredith Publishing Group
Phillippe Krakowsky,* SVP, director, corporate communications, Interpublic Group
Mike Lotito,* CEO, Media IQ
Francisco Lozano, corporate director, magazines, ImpreMedia
Wenda Harris Millard,* president, media, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia
Mari Kim Novak, director, industry relations, Microsoft Corporation
Cynthia Park, president, Kang & Lee Advertising
Aldo Quevedo,* president & CCO, Dieste, Harmel & Partners
Jim Speros,+ SVP & CMO, Marsh & McLennan Companies
Rich Stoddart,* co-president, Leo Burnett USA
Liz Vanzura,* director, global marketing – Cadillac, General Motors

* Advertising Hall of Achievement member

+ Advertising Hall of Achievement charter member

For more information on the 2007 Advertising Hall of Achievement, go to For sponsorship information, please contact Dee Dee Swartz, manager, events and conferences, at

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at