October 26, 2005

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AF Calls for 57th Advertising Hall of Fame Nominations

Deadline for Nominations Is November 7, 2005

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The American Advertising Federation (AAF) is seeking nominations for the 57th Advertising Hall of Fame, which honors legendary individuals whose standard of excellence continues to define and raise the standards of the advertising industry. These prestigious awards are the industry's greatest honor for lifetime achievement in advertising, and the AAF administers the Advertising Hall of Fame on behalf of the entire industry. The AAF will accept nominations until November 7, 2005. The recipients will be officially inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Fame at an awards luncheon March 14, 2006, at New York's historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

Last year's Advertising Hall of Fame inductees included Thomas J. Burrell, chairman emeritus, Burrell Communications Group; Roger A. Enrico, former chairman and CEO, PepsiCo, and executive chairman, DreamWorks SKG; Harry M. Jacobs, chairman emeritus, the Martin Agency; and Ted Turner, founder, CNN.

Eligible candidates are those individuals who have completed their primary careers, distinguished themselves in those careers, contributed to the betterment of advertising and its reputation and made volunteer efforts outside the workplace. Nominations can be submitted on the Advertising Hall of Fame Web site (www.advertisinghalloffame.org), which acts as a virtual museum for the honors. The award-winning sitealso contains information on the history of the Advertising Hall of Fame. Since its inception in 1948, the Advertising Hall of Fame has honored 166 individuals including industry giants such as Leo Burnett, Katharine Graham, Ray Kroc, David Ogilvy, Harley Procter and Mary Wells Lawrence.

For additional information on nominations, contact Lisa Rubin at (202) 371-2323 or lrubin@aaf.org or Dee Dee Swartzat (202) 371-2336 or dswartz@aaf.org .

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.