2003 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

2003 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award Recipient: Richard Squire

Rick SquireThe 2003 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award was presented to Richard C. Squire, who has served as executive director of the Cleveland Advertising Association (CAA) for eight years. In this role, Squire has worked tirelessly to assure that the organization achieves membership growth, maintains its financial health and increases diversity in the Cleveland advertising market. CAA leaders credit the association's membership growth this year to Squire's charismatic leadership style. He personally meets all the new members, getting to know each person and finding just the right place for each member to share his or her talents and contribute to the success of the organization. Without sacrificing the quality of CAA's programming, special events and member services, Squire's keen financial stewardship has allowed the CAA to remain financially healthy, in a time when many organizations are struggling.

From left: AAF's Howard Bell presents Rick Squire with the 2003 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award.

Squire made diversity and minority representation a primary goal for the CAA. He helped spearhead a strategic plan that was successful in increasing minority membership in the CAA by 2 percent and minority attendance at monthly programs by 15 percent. Squire was instrumental in bringing the 2001 AAF National Conference to Cleveland and for making it a rousing success. The 2001 conference was the first AAF meeting to see over 900 attendees. Squire's leadership has inspired the Cleveland Advertising Association to excel in all areas, resulting in Club of the Year honors in 2001 and 2003.

2005 Marge Traver, executive secretary, Fresno Advertising Federation
2004 Jay Hagins, executive director, Houston Advertising Federation (HAF)
2003 Richard C. Squire, executive director, Cleveland Advertising Association
2002 Barbara Lutman executive director, Advertising Club of Kansas City
2001 Dee Ann Budge, executive director, Utah Advertising Federation
2000 Georgia Brown, former AAF board laison & executive assistant to the president (posthumously)
Twila Hopkins, executive director, Phoenix Advertising Club
1999 Christie Dalgarno, bookkeeper, AAF
1998 Willa Brown, president/CEO, Denver Advertising Federation

For more information, contact Joanne Schecter, SVP, club services at (800) 999-2231 or jschecter@aaf.org.