2004 Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

2004 Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award Recipients: David A. Park and Jack Avrett

This 2004 Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award was presented to two dedicated AAF members - David A. Park and Jack Avrett.

David A. Park
With 20 years of service to the AAF, Dave Park has been a tireless champion and advocate for the advertising industry. Park's dedication and service to the AAF spans the majority of his career in advertising. In 1966 Park began his career in advertising at McCann Erickson in Honolulu. In 1969 he co-founded Mayfield Smith Park Advertising, which would grow to become one of Hawaii's most successful agencies. In 1984 Park joined the board of the Honolulu Advertising Federation. When Park moved to Los Angeles to take the helm of DDB Needham in 1988, he continued to serve the mission of the AAF, joining the board of the Advertising Club of Los Angeles in 1989 as a director; he later held the positions of vice president, president and chairman. Park joined the AAF national board of directors in 1995 and became chairman in 2001. During this time, Park was instrumental in the development of the AAF's Great Brands Campaign as well as AAF's multicultural initiatives.

Jack Avrett (posthumously)
Jack Avrett worked for several major advertising agencies including Grey Adversting, Foote, Cone & Belding, Wells Rich Greene and The Marschalk Agency. In 1971 Avrett founded The Project Group, one of the first "creative boutiques" that specialized in creative work. Avrett was then joined by partners Marcella Free and Frank Ginsberg to form Avrett, Free & Ginsberg in 1983. Avrett was AAF chairman for the 1993-1994 term and served on the board of the Advertising Club of New York. He was instrumental in defeating the infamous 1987 Florida ad tax and he helped launch the Advertising Hall of Achievement in 1993 to recognize professionals age 40 and younger. Avrett's final contribution to AAF was a new ADDY category, Advertising for the Arts, for which he personally supplied the cash prize, was a combination of his two great passions. He served on the AAF board of directors and the Arts in America board until his death in 1997.

2003 Bart Cumminings Award Winner Allan Jenkins (left) presents the award to Dave Park.
AAF President Wally Snyder (right) accepts the 2004 Bart Cumminings Award on behalf of Jack Avrett's family from last year's winner Jim Goodnight.

Past Recipients
2004 - David A. Park and Jack Avrett
2003 - Jim Goodnight and Alan Jenkins
2002 - Charlie Malone
2001 - Barbara Westland
2000 - Chic Davis
1999 - David Bell
1998 - W. Pendleton Tudor and James Anderson
1997 - Patricia J. Martin
1996 - Bernard T. Flanagan
1995 - James S. Fish and Donald A. Macdonald