Bill Cosby, General Motors, Seven Legendary Individual Inductees Headline 62nd Advertising Hall of Fame®

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Advertising Hall of Fame enters its 62nd year with several firsts:

For the first time the Induction Ceremonies & Gala will be held not as a lunch, but as a dinner event, the evening of Wednesday, March 30, 2011, at New York's historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel;

for the first time the event will be made available as a live telecast exclusively to the American Advertising Federation’s nearly 200 local ad federations, with a potential audience outside the Waldorf’s Grand Ballroom of tens of thousands of advertising leaders nationwide;

and the AAF will present for the first time ever the President’s Award for Special Lifetime Contributions to Advertising, an honor to be given to those whose primary career was not in advertising, but whose work has made enormous contributions to our industry. The inaugural recipient of the President’s Award is Bill Cosby.

Chosen by the Hall of Fame’s distinguished Council of Judges, the seven advertising legends who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame are:

David Abbott, Retired Chairman, Abbott Mead Vickers Group
Eduardo Caballero, Founder, Caballero Radio & Television
Jack Connors, Jr., Chairman Emeritus, Hill Holliday Connors Cosmopulos
Laurel Cutler, Advertising/Marketing Trailblazer
Earl G. Graves, Sr., Chairman, Founder & Publisher, Black Enterprise
Herb Kelleher, Founder & Chairman Emeritus, Southwest Airlines Co.
Jack Smith, Former Group President, Deputy Chief Creative Officer Worldwide, Leo Burnett Company

And for only the second time ever, a corporation will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. This year’s corporate inductee is the storied automotive company General Motors.

In this year’s class of inductees is the first Hispanic inductee, Eduardo Caballero.

"With all the ‘firsts’, this is going to be an evening like none other in our industry – but the 62 year old mission of the Hall of Fame remains the same: Recognizing and celebrating legendary achievements in advertising," said Mike Kelly, president & CEO, The Weather Channel Companies, and chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame.

AAF president & CEO James Edmund Datri added, "Expanding the audience beyond those in the Ballroom in New York City to the advertising community nationwide, through the live telecast, will on that night bring our industry together across America, to inspire all with the legends we will honor."

The Advertising Hall of Fame is administered by the American Advertising Federation on behalf of the entire advertising community.

For more information on the Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala, please visit the AAF website or contact Tiffany Foxworth at or at (202) 898-0089.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 40,000 individual members from nearly 200 local AAF clubs and ad federations located in ad markets big and small across the nation; 8,000 student members from 215 AAF college chapters; and nearly 100 corporate members, comprising the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies. For more information, visit the AAF's website at